Burning Eye Books · General · Review

Gingerbread Flax Podcast Muffins

(header stolen from a friend on facebook this morning.)

So this morning whilst listening to an episode on sex workers from the Kicking the Kyriarchy podcast*, I tried my hand at Gingerbread Flax Muffins because autumn is here, I am being domesticated and enjoying living in my new house. And pretending to be middle class is really fun when you get to have muffins for breakfast.


Anyway I’ve just eaten one and it was excellent. I don’t understand how some people can write so much bumph before getting to the recipe. Post Punk Kitchen is my go-to vegan baking website, I use them all the time for cakes and cookies AND they’re American which means they use cups and tbs as measurements which my discalculate brain can understand. They do lots of really yummy vegan treats, sweet and savoury and they have a range of cook books as well! (Mum, if you’re reading this, I’d really like one for my birthday.)

Also, I dyed my hair again so watch our Bristol! Spring green is no more. Hello autumnal forest green and bitter chocolate. (No pic, you’ll have to catch me outside like a pokemon)

*Kicking the Kyriarchy is my new favourite feminist podcast – it’s a good pace, it deals with interesting issues that I certainly would like to know more about and the two women who host (Sidonie and Elena) are brilliant at making space for the right people to be talking. I thoroughly recommend this podcast to anyone wanting to learn more about intersectional feminism that doesn’t mean reading through countless articles and books (which I think you should still probably do if you are able). This podcast is casual, conversational and very open to ‘calling in’. (Calling In is a new term for Calling Out, but it is apparently more gentle and inclusive – what are your thoughts on this, reader?) I like this podcast because after listening to so many podcasts on feminism, this one talks about the fundamentals of what it’s like to be a sex worker or a non-binary person (examples) and doesn’t just assume that everyone listening is aware of the stigmas and is produced in a way that people of all levels of understanding can engage with. There is also an ease of recognition when certain things have not been addressed or they have asked an inappropriate/uncomfortable question. As someone who has worked in activist groups and feminist spaces that have not been very intersectional, I find myself listening closely to the language that they use, the questions they ask and the way in which they address the limitations of their own identities. I think it’s a really useful learning point.

I’m also very very into podcasts now – I’m going to make a post at some point with some of my other recommendations BUT I’m very proud of myself because I produced my own podcast last week for Burning Eye Books! We’re starting our own podcast series and this is episode 2. Produced and recorded by me – interviewing performance poet Paula Varjack:

 

 

Leave a Reply

