Review · Uncategorized

Netflix Pick: iZombie

OH MY GOD I LOVE THIS SHOW.

Ivo has been trying to get me into zombie films, tv, games etc since we started going out and I’ve never been that much of a fan. Much more of a classic Frankenstein horror myself. But anyway, it started a few months ago when I decided that I would watch Quarantine (US remake of REC, Ivo’s favourite ever zombie film). Ivo persuaded me because it’s supposed to be less terrifying. I am not a big fan of horror films, I’m a huge fan of gore though. So we watched Quarantine and I watched the whole thing and it was pretty horrible and gorey and the end made me jump a lot. I survived the night AND didn’t have nightmares for the next two weeks so I started to think about how maybe I could deal with zombie films now.

We started watching Fear the Walking Dead (I’ve not seen Walking Dead yet, I don’t know if I will) which I actually find really slow and boring and the characters are REALLY ANNOYING. Although I’m told that’s the point. Anyway, I stumbled upon iZombie again thanks to my friend Stace who recommended it to me. So yeah, I decided to give it a go.

And then I watched all of season 1 in a day.

Ravi excitement

No regrets!

If you haven’t watched it yet, I won’t spoil you. Just brace yourself for a real roller-coaster of emotion, character development and Ravi-cuteness. It’s got pretty much everything I love – gore, romance, crime, kookiness and best of all, a sense that it doesn’t take itself too seriously. I like iZombie because although it follows this current fad of modernising classic monsters for young adult audiences (Vampire Diaries, etc.) it has taken the concept of zombies and done something interesting with it (kind of like Dead Bodies but much better), not the same old end-of-the-human-race narrative that bores me to death.  It’s super accessible, easy to watch and like human brains, makes you crave more. Don’t watch if you’re a serious zombie lover, it’s not a serious series.

tumblr_nnpj1lP9A11utkbk2o1_500

Crime-fighting duo Liv and Clive make a dynamic pair that basically gives the finger to anyone who thinks women and people of colour can’t be main protagonists. Ravi is the greatest friend and probably character in the whole thing – he’s charming, intelligent and quite nerdy, which is basically what you want in a person. (Well, me anyway) Major Lilywhite wins the prize for Weirdest Name. I actually googled the origin and it’s really not that interesting (‘Major’ was the name of one producer’s high school crush, ‘Lilywhite’ is the other’s favourite college football player). So I’m going to go with my original thought which is that it’s a direct branding of his middle-class white-boy role. There are some great supporting characters, undead jokes and a killer script foaming with pop culture references.

I recommend iZombie if you’ve got a few days to kill, or if you like gore but not horror, OR if you have a crush on Bradley James.

tumblr_nv2fxhdwIW1uqzp5go2_500

I’ve just finished season 2  and there’s a gaping hole in my chest. Oh, netflix. What’s next for us?

One thought on “Netflix Pick: iZombie

Leave a Reply

