Skin Health

Eczema Diaries #3

img_0342

Having a flare up today. I have only just done a salt soak so it might be the reason for this incredibly itchy side of my face. I hate how tight and wrinkly it makes the skin around my eyes, especially as I wear glasses which magnify my eyes so it’s literally zoomed in on the worst part.

Anyway, as we (in some parts of the U.K.) have been getting beautiful weather recently, I’m going to do a little list of things that helps my skin survive the summer.

So Aloe Vera Gel and Coconut Oil were both recommended to me when I had my initial flare up last year and neither worked AT ALL. However, the patches of eczema on the rest of my body, e.g  my legs, inner elbows and shoulders, coconut oil works really well after a shower or bath. Luckily the weather is getting warmer so the coconut oil shouldn’t be so hard to get out of the tub, but if it is, try sticking it on the radiator or in the bathroom with you when the hot water is on. I try not to go overboard with it because a lot can be itchy. Smooth a thin layer on across your skin, it makes the unaffected areas soft and lovely too!

Aloe Vera gel is a on-hand immediate life-saver. Especially for sunburnt eczema. The immediate cooling of the gel eases any discomfort but I wouldn’t use it as an everyday solution, but more if you’re out and about and the sweat is causing irritation.

Breath of Fresh Air toner water from Lush is a bizarre but actually great idea, haha! Because it’s salt water, it should freshen your skin rather than make it itchy and a light spray is sometimes all you need to relieve that feeling of strands of hair brushing against your skin! (That’s what my facial eczema feels like when it’s irritated. I hate it!)

img_0347

Now this BB Seaweed from Lush is NOT vegan but was given to me by my boyfriend as a gift and I am not going to waste it. (Maybe I should write a kind of ‘disclaimer’ about my ethics on vegan products?) I used it for the first time at the weekend and it REALLY soothed my skin and left it feeling soft and supple. It contains seaweed, kaolin, honey, aloe vera and rose all of which are very healing for the skin. If you’re not vegan, or if you are okay with honey, give it a try. Once a week should be good.

Also try crystal based deodorants, rather than antiperspirants because they let the skin breath. You might need to carry it around with you, but if you’re anything like me you’ve got a bag big enough to fit all your skin aids in! I’ve been using PitRok for the last six months and in that time I’ve shaved my pits for the first time in over a year. I was worried about irritation but nope! It’s been great! You can get different versions from these stores and they are cruelty free and vegan!

These products really help me at the moment as I walk EVERYWHERE and this obviously means that I sweat and by the time I get from A to B my face is a hotmess of flakey-goodness!

Hope some of this helps anyone reading! x

Leave a Reply

